< شاهد كل المقالات عن الأرتكاريا والصدفية

الجنس والحالات الجلدية

الجنس والحالة الجلدية: ليسا الثنائي الأمثل في السرير

جنس تجعل هذ الكلمة المؤلفة من ثلاثة حروف الكثيرين يشعرون بالخجل، وقد تكونون الآن في صدد محاولة قراءة هذا المقال سراً من دون السماح لمن بجواركم بمعرفة ذلك. لكن ليس ثمة ما يدعو للخجل لأننا هنا لتسليط الضوء على ما يحدث خلف الأبواب المغلقة لأولئك الذين قد يترددون عندما يتعلق الأمر بتعارض الجنس مع الحالات الجلدية.

وفي دراسة حديثة1، أفاد ما يقرب من ثلث المصابين بالصدفية والتهاب المفاصل الصدفي أن حالتهم الجلدية تؤثر على حياتهم الجنسية. في المقابل، كشفت دراسة خاصة بالأشخاص الذين يعانون من الارتكاريا المزمنة بأنهم يعتقدون أنه من الصعب بلوغ الإثارة الجنسية بالمقارنة مع أولئك الذين لا يعانون من حالة جلدية محبطة.2 قد يتجاوز تأثير هذه التحديات غرفة النوم بكثير، ومن المؤكد أنه موضوع يستحق النقاش.

لذا، تجاهل هذه العوائق ودعنا نتحدث عن الجنس، يا عزيزي.

مقاربة الأمور من منظورها الصحيح

يمكن أن تشكل إقامة العلاقات والحميمية تحدياً بالنسبة لأي شخص، سواءُ أكان يعاني أو لا يعاني من حالة جلدية. لكن دعونا نواجه الحقيقة ونعترف بأن الشعور بالثقة، والإثارة الجنسية، قد يغدو شبه مستحيل عندما يكون جلدك محمراً ومتهيجاً. 

فلدى الجميع تحفظاته عندما يتعلق الأمر بخلع الثياب. ومن الممكن أن يساور القلقُ الشريك حيال جسده (جسدها) أيضاً. تحمل العلاقة الحميمية معانٍ مختلفة بالنسبة لكل شخص، لكن إذا كنت على وشك عيش هذه اللحظة المحورية مع شريكك للمرة الأولى، فقد يكون من المفيد الحديث عن حالتك مسبقاً- ناهيك عن إتاحة الفرصة له لمناقشة أي ترددات. نأمل أن يكون ذلك معلوماُ للجميع، لكن إذا رفضك أحد ما نتيجة الإفصاح عن حالة جلدك، فإن هذا الشخص لا يستحق أن تفكر به مرة ثانية.

تحدث مع طبيبك

قد تثير الصدفية والأرتكاريا العديد من المشاكل- الجسدية، والعاطفية، وكل المشاكل التي تندرج بينهما- ويعاني الكثير من الناس من كيفية التعامل مع هذه القضايا لدى حدوثها. تمعنوا في هذا: قرابة نصف أولئك الذين يعانون من الصدفية قالوا بأن رغبتهم الجنسية قد انخفضت منذ ظهور الأعراض. 1,3 وفي المقابل، فإننا نعلم أيضاً أن الحالات الجلدية قد تفسد المزاج- وقد يخفض المزاج السيء من رغبتكم الجنسية. 4

من السهل رؤية كيفية تحول هذه القضية إلى قضية معقدة، وإذا كانت تشكل هاجساً بالنسبة لكم تحدثوا مع الطبيب. قد يوصوا بمراجعة أخصائي نفسي للتحدث عن أي مخاوف لديكم حول العلاقة الحميمية، أو أي تحديات أخرى قد تؤثر على صحتكم العاطفية. هل تواجهون صعوبة في التمتع بالثقة؟ قد يكون الأخصائي النفسي الخاص بكم قادراً على مساعدتكم للعمل عبر الطريقة الأمثل لمعالجة المسألة.

لستم متأكدين حيال العلاقة الجديدة؟ قد يكونوا قادرين على التحدث معكم إزاء إيجابيات وسلبيات شريككم المحتمل.

ينبغي عدم إخفاء أي أسرار لدى الحديث مع أي طبيب من أطبائكم. ويجب أن تكون منطقة خالية من الأحكام على غرار غرفة النوم. 

عش الإثارة...

بالنسبة لبعض الأشخاص، لا يجعل الجلد الملتهب ممارسة الجنس أمراً محرجاً فحسب، بل يمكن أن يجعله مؤلماً للغاية، ولاسيما إذا كانت الأعضاء التناسلية متضررة. يمكن للصدفية 5والأرتكاريا6 أن يؤثرا على منطقة الجلد المحيطة بتشعب الفخذين، ما يسبب عدم راحة خلال الجماع. وفي إحدى الدراسات، كان الأشخاص ذوي الأعضاء التناسلية المتأثرة بالصدفية أكثر عرضة لتجنب الجنس، حتى في العلاقات طويلة الأمد.7 تحدثوا صراحة مع الطبيب أو شريككم حول الطرق التي يمكنكم اتباعها لجعل الأمور أكثر راحة، سواءُ أكنت تتمثل في ارتداء بعض قطع الملابس، أو وضع كريم واق، أو اختيار وضعيات تحد من الاحتكاك مع المناطق الملتهبة. قد يكون العناق، والمساج، والمداعبة أيضاً وسائل مذهلة لتحقيق الإثارة. خذوا وقتكم في اكتشاف السبل الأكثر جدوى بالنسبة لكم ولشريككم.

استمتعوا بالجنس مع فوائد (الجلد)

بالتأكيد، قد تحول الحالة الجلدية دون ممارسة الجنس بتلقائية، لكن الأمر يستحق بذل الجهد. وحتى جلدكم قد يكون ممتناً لكم. تشير الأبحاث إلى أن الجماع يمكنه جعلكم أكثر تكيفاً مع الإجهاد 8الذي يعد أحد المحفزات الرئيسية للحالات الجلدية مثل الصدفية والأرتكاريا. مزيد من الجنس، قليل من التوتر؟ إنها معادلة بسيطة، لكنني سأدع لكم حرية القيام بما تشاؤون به خلف الأبواب المغلقة.

قد تكون معايشة إحدى الحالات الجلدية مليئة بالكثير من المنعطفات والمنزلقات، حيث يمكن لإضافة الجنس إلى هذه المعادلة تحويل المسألة إلى تجربة مريرة حقيقية. نحتاج جميعناإلى شخص ما للتشبث به خلال هذه التجربة، سواءُ أكان ذلك يعني الوثوق بصديق مقرب أو شريككم، أو التحدث مع طبيبكم. لذا، دعنا نتحدث عن الجنس يا عزيزي، ودعنا نحول دون لعب هذه الكلمة المؤلفة من ثلاثة حروف دور السطوة في غرفة النوم.

< See All Articles In Psoriasis And Urticaria

Sex and Skin Conditions

Sex and a skin condition: not the best bed buddies

S-e-x. This three-letter word can make many people blush, and in fact, you may be covertly trying to read this article right now without letting whoever is next to you know. But there’s no need to be bashful because we’re here to shed some light on what happens behind closed doors for those who may have hesitations about when sex and skin conditions collide.

In a recent study,1 nearly a third of people with psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis said their skin condition affects their sex life. Relatedly, a study of people living with chronic urticaria revealed that they perceive it to be more difficult to become sexually aroused than those who aren’t combating a frustrating skin condition.2 The impact of these challenges can extend well beyond the bedroom, and it is definitely worth discussing.

So, strip away those inhibitions and let’s talk about sex, baby.

Keeping things in perspective

Navigating relationships and intimacy can be challenging for anyone, with or without a skin condition. However, feeling confident – and let’s face it, sexy – can be nearly impossible when your skin is red and inflamed.

When it comes to taking off your clothes, everyone has reservations. It’s possible that your partner is worrying about their own body, too. Intimacy means something different to each person, but if you’re approaching this milestone with your partner for the first time, it might be helpful to talk about your condition beforehand – and also offer them the opportunity to discuss any hesitations. We hope it goes without saying, but if someone rejects you based on the revelation of your skin condition, then they aren’t worth a second thought.

Talk with your doctor

Psoriasis and urticaria can surface many problems – physical, emotional and everything in between – and many people grapple with how to deal with these issues when they occur. Consider this: nearly half of those living with psoriasis said their libido had declined since developing symptoms.3 Meanwhile, we also know that skin conditions can wreak havoc on mood – and a bad mood may reduce your sex drive.4

It’s easy to see how this could become a compounding issue, and if it is a concern for you, speak to your doctor. They may recommend seeing a therapist to speak about any concerns you have about intimacy, or any other challenges that may impact your emotional wellbeing. Having a tough time with confidence? Your therapist may be able to help you work through the best way to handle it. Not sure about that new relationship? They may be able to talk you through the pros and cons of your potential partner.

Nothing should be off the table when talking to any of your doctors. Much like the bedroom, it should be a judgement-free zone.

Spice it up…

For some people, inflamed skin doesn’t just make sex cringe-worthy, it can make it downright painful, particularly if the genitals are impacted. Psoriasis5 and urticaria6 can both affect the skin around the crotch, causing discomfort during intercourse. In one study, people whose genitals were affected by psoriasis were more likely to avoid sex, even in long-term relationships.7 Speak openly with your doctor and partner about ways you can make things more comfortable, whether it’s keeping certain articles of clothing on, applying barrier cream or opting for positions that minimize contact with inflamed areas. It is also possible that cuddling, massage and foreplay can all be great ways to spice things up. Take time to experiment to find whatever works best for you and your partner.

Enjoy sex with (skin) benefits

Sure, having a skin condition might take the spontaneity out of sex, but it’s worth persevering.  Even your skin may thank you. Research shows intercourse can make you more resilient to stress,8 which is a potential trigger of skin conditions like psoriasis and urticaria. More sex, less stress? It’s a simplified equation, but we’ll leave you to do whatever you’d like behind closed doors.

Living with a skin condition can be full of ups and downs, and adding s-e-x to the equation can turn it into a real roller coaster. We all need someone to hold onto for this ride, whether that means confiding in a close friend or your partner, or speaking with your doctor. So, let’s talk about sex, baby, and stop this three-letter word from having all the power in the bedroom. 

  1. Intimacy and Psoriasis. National Psoriasis Foundation https://www.psoriasis.org/about-psoriasis/living-well/psoriasis-and-intimacy
  2. The problems in sexual functions of vitiligo and chronic urticaria patients. Sukan M1, Maner F. J Sex Marital Ther. 2007 Jan-Feb;33(1):55-64. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17162488
  3. Psoriasis and sex: a study of moderately to severely affected patients. Gupta MA1, Gupta AK. Int J Dermatol. 1997 Apr;36(4):259-62.
  4. Depression and sexual dysfunction. David S Baldwin. Br Med Bull (2001) 57 (1): 81-99. https://academic.oup.com/bmb/article/57/1/81/301608/Depression-and-sexual-dysfunction
  5. https://www.psoriasis.org/about-psoriasis/specific-locations/genitals
  6. http://www.aocd.org/?page=Urticaria
  7. Sex and the skin: A qualitative study of patients with acne, psoriasis and atopic eczema Parker Magin, Gaynor Heading, Jon Adams, and Dimity Pond Psychology, Health & Medicine Vol. 15 , Iss. 4,2010 http://www.tandfonline.com/action/showCitFormats?doi=10.1080%2F13548506.2010.484463
  8. Blood pressure reactivity to stress is better for people who recently had penile-vaginal intercourse than for people who had other or no sexual activity. Brody S1. Biol Psychol. 2006 Feb;71(2):214-22. Epub 2005 Jun 14. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15961213

 

Related articles